Maths/Math related stories

Resources, Theory

We know how much everybody loves a story. I was encouraged to pursue this through a number of talks/tweets/articles etc. I was also encouraged beginning this in 2016 with some attempts to incorporate stories into my maths class.

One of the best things I found was ‘crafting’ something that had happened in class into a story (eg. tale of someone who avoided something fearing they would get stuck, later worked it out etc, later revealing it was me! Also used a story along the lines of the hare and the rabbit about persevering, as well as using soccer stats from a book to add story/context)

Aside from that though, here are some links to stories that I found I could weave into a maths lesson somehow:

EDIT: Before I got to working on my list, I came across this site called mathsthroughstories! Check out the recommendations page!

Leave a Reply

